test

GINETEX Switzerland – the Swiss association for textile labelling

The association has been a centre of expertise for over 50 years now. GINETEX is responsible for care and material labelling for the textile industry and clothing sector.

Who created the labelling system? The origins of the care symbols (also) lie within Switzerland.

GINETEX Switzerland originated from a predecessor organisation referred to as "SARTEX". Back then, 19 associations from the textile and clothing industry, chemicals industry (colour chemistry), detergent industry and textile retailer sector joined forces.

The Swiss association for textile care labelling (Schweizerische Arbeitsgemeinschaft für das Textilpflegezeichen) – or “SARTEX” for short – created the foundations for international care labelling. Since then, the textile industry has undergone a number of innovative advances. The events that led to care labels occurred in parallel to these and the labelling system meanwhile became established as an international standard.

A textile care symbol is a pictogram for designating the way that the respective manufacturer recommends that users care for the particular item in terms of washing, bleaching, drying, ironing and professional cleaning. They are usually attached in the form of a label sewn onto an item of clothing in order to make it easier for consumers to care for their textiles.

Duties and responsibilities of GINETEX Switzerland

GINETEX Switzerland provides Swiss manufacturers, producers and sales personnel with an international, trademark-protected system for labelling textiles. The system informs consumers and producers about the appropriate way to care for textiles as well as the raw textile materials used.

GINETEX is primarily concerned with making companies within the textile and clothing industry as well as the entire textile chain aware of the importance of a correct and comprehensible material and care labelling system as well as implementing this system.

Clear labelling achieves qualitative added value from which customers, the trade sector and manufacturers benefit.

Cross-border collaboration

GINETEX Switzerland works together with bodies concerned with labelling at both a national and international level and aims to harmonise textile labelling around the world.

GINETEX – the international care labelling organisation and the trademark owner of care symbols – has its registered office in Paris and is a non-profit body. 21 countries are currently represented in GINETEX, with GINETEX Switzerland as the founding member.

The corresponding national organisations ensure the correct use of care symbols at the respective national level on behalf of GINETEX and represent the interests of GINETEX. The objective of collaborating is to standardise information regarding the care of textile products for customers around the world and make it easier for customers to use the information.

Licensing of care symbols in Switzerland

To ensure compliance with and the correct use of care labelling symbols and guarantee the comprehensibility of the system, the symbols are registered trademarks in most countries.

At an international level, the trademark owner is care labelling organisation GINETEX (Groupement International d’Etiquetage pour l’Entretien des Textiles – International Association for Textile Care Labelling). At a national level, the respective national organisations are responsible for bailment; this is GINETEX Switzerland in the case of Switzerland. Using the system requires a license agreement and is subject to a fee.

GINETEX Switzerland offers a simple, staggered license model that provides a solution for all market participants – from small innovative textile label manufacturers to textile concerns operating on an international scale. Please contact us for more information and an offer tailored to your requirements.

In legal terms, textile labels are not actually required by law in Switzerland.

Mot de passe oublié
test

GINETEX Switzerland – le groupement suisse d’étiquetage des textiles

Il s’agit d'un centre de compétences depuis plus de 50 ans. GINETEX est responsable de l’étiquetage d’entretien et des matières premières de l’industrie textile et du secteur de l’habillement.

Qui l’a inventé? Les symboles d’entretien trouvent (aussi) leur origine en Suisse.

GINETEX Switzerland a succédé à une autre organisation, la SARTEX. 19 associations de l’industrie textile et de l’habillement, de l’industrie chimique (chimie des colorants), de l’industrie des détergents et du commerce textile s’étaient regroupées.

L’Organisation suisse de la spécification des textiles, la SARTEX en abrégé, a créé les bases de l’étiquetage d’entretien international. Depuis, l’industrie textile a été confrontée à de nombreuses innovations. L’histoire de l’étiquetage d’entretien a suivi cette évolution et s’est finalement établie comme le standard international.

Un symbole d’entretien des textiles est un pictogramme pour l’étiquetage du mode de traitement des textiles recommandé par le fabricant concernant leur lavage, blanchiment, séchage, repassage et nettoyage professionnel. Ces symboles sont généralement placés sur le linge sous forme d’étiquette cousue pour faciliter l’entretien des textiles au consommateur.

Les missions de GINETEX Switzerland

GINETEX Switzerland met à la disposition des fabricants, producteurs et personnels de vente suisses un système international et protégé par le droit des marques pour l’étiquetage des textiles. Ce système sert à informer les consommateurs et les utilisateurs sur l’entretien à apporter aux textiles et aux matières premières textiles utilisées.

La préoccupation principale de GINETEX est d’attirer l’attention des sociétés œuvrant dans la branche textile et de l’habillement ainsi que de toute la chaîne textile sur l’importance d’un étiquetage d’entretien et des matières premières compréhensible et correct et de faire en sorte que cet étiquetage soit ensuite appliqué.

Un étiquetage clair permet d’obtenir une valeur ajoutée en termes de qualité, pour le bien du client, du commerce mais aussi du fabricant.

Collaboration transnationale

Sur le plan national et international, GINETEX Switzerland coopère avec les instances intéressées par l’étiquetage avec pour objectif une harmonisation mondiale de l’étiquetage des textiles.

Le siège de GINETEX, l’organisation internationale de l’étiquetage d’entretien, en sa qualité de propriétaire des symboles d’entretien, se trouve à Paris. Il s’agit d’une organisation à but non lucratif. Actuellement, 21 pays sont représentés au sein de GINETEX. GINETEX Switzerland en fait partie, en tant que membre fondateur.

Les organisations nationales garantissent l’utilisation correcte des symboles d’entretien sur le plan national au nom de GINETEX et représentent ses intérêts. L’objectif de cette collaboration est d’harmoniser les informations relatives à l’entretien des produits textiles pour les clients partout dans le monde et leur en faciliter l’utilisation.

Licence des symboles d’entretien en Suisse

Pour garantir le respect et la bonne utilisation des symboles d’étiquetage d’entretien et la compréhensibilité du système, les symboles sont des marques déposées dans la plupart des pays.

Sur le plan international, la propriétaire de la marque est l’organisation d’étiquetage d’entretien GINETEX (Groupement International d’Etiquetage pour l’Entretien des Textiles). Sur le plan national, chaque organisation nationale est responsable de déposer la marque, ce qui est le cas de GINETEX Switzerland pour la Suisse. L’utilisation de la marque requiert un contrat de licence et est payante.

GINETEX Switzerland propose un modèle de licence simple et échelonné, qui offre une solution adaptée à tous les acteurs du marché, depuis les petites marques textiles novatrices jusqu’aux multinationales. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour obtenir de plus amples informations et sur notre offre adaptée à vos besoins.

Du point de vue légal, la loi suisse ne prescrit pas d’étiquetage spécifique des textiles.